WEST VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION MINUTES June 4, 2009 WV LOTTERY COMMISSION CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA

The Racing Commission meeting was called to order at 8:40 a.m. by Secretary Virgil Helton. Present were newly appointed Commission members Joe Smith, Greg McDermott, and Jack Rossi. Present also were Executive Secretary Linda Rutledge, Racing Specialist Sherry Dorsey, Deputy Attorney General Kelli Talbott and Anthony Eates. (See sign in sheet for other attendees)

(1) Election of Chairman

Monica Robinson, Attorney for the WV Lottery, swore the three commissioners in. Secretary Helton recommended Joe Smith be named acting Chairman

Upon motion duly made by Jack Rossi and seconded by Mr. McDermott, Mr. Smith was elected Chairman for the Racing Commission.

(2) Approval of Minutes from February 24, 2009 meeting

The minutes were deferred until the next Racing Commission meeting.

(3) **Open Meetings**

Deputy Attorney General Kelli Talbott gave a power point presentation on WV Open Governmental Proceedings Act. (see attached copy pf presentation)

(4) Ethics Act

John Melton, Legal Counsel for the WV Lottery, gave a handout book to the newly appointed commissioners. One of the sections was Public Officers and Employees; Ethics; Conflicts of Interest; Financial Disclosure.

(5) Roles and Duties of Commission

a. Deputy Attorney General Kelli Talbott gave a power point presentation on Racing Commission Duties and Responsibilities (see attached copy of presentation)
b. Executive Secretary, Linda Rutledge, gave a hand out on day to day operations of the commission.

c. Jim Toney Chief Financial Officer for the WV Lottery gave an Assessment and Implementation for Accounting Controls and Procedures for the Racing Commission
d. Deputy Attorney General Kelli Talbott gave a hand out of the hearings and lawsuits that the Racing Commission will hear. e. Personnel Issues (Executive Session)

Motion was duly made, seconded and carried to recess to Executive Session.

Reconvened the June 4, 2009 meeting

(6) Expense reimbursement

Travel Expense forms were given to the three Racing Commissioners.

(7) Designation of signature authority

Motion was duly made, seconded and carried to authorize the three Racing Commissioners and Linda Rutledge signature authority for all checking accounts.

(8) Location of Racing Commission offices

(9) Discussion and execution of interagency agreement

Motion was duly made, seconded and carried to move item numbers eight (8) and nine to the next Racing Commission meeting.

(10) Next meeting date

The next meeting was tentatively set for July 14, 2009 at the WV Lottery.

Other Business

Sam Burdette, President of the WV Greyhound Owners and Breeders Association, welcomed the three new commissioners and gave out a handout for their perusal.

Troy Hendircks congratulated the three new commissioners.

Rembraandt Wright, Mountaineer H.B.P.A. expressed his concerns for the "Backstretch Pension Fund."

Lennie Hale, Executive Director, Charles Town H.B.P.A., welcomed the three new commissioners and suggested that they attend some of the Racing Commissioners International meetings to gain insight on Thoroughbred and Greyhound Racing.

Ben Travis, Racing Secretary at Wheeling Island Racetrack, welcomed the three new commissioners. Mr. Travis explained that Wheeling Island management is currently in active negotiations with union representatives to draft a new agreement. The current agreement has been extended at this time. In preparation for a possibility that union associates could decide to strike, they are looking into the feasibility of licensing non-union associates to perform duties in the racing department so that they would be able to continue operations.

Mr. Travis will keep the Commissioners updated so that a decision can be made on this matter.

Mr. Travis stated that he would call the commission office if they voted to strike.

Upon motion duly made, seconded and carried, the Racing Commissioners approved Ms. Rutledge to hire two license clerks at Charles Town Racetrack.

The meeting adjourned 12:30 pm

Joe E. Smith, Chairman